Thoughts on the Oscars & My Predictions

Call me shallow, but awards season is one of my favorite times of the year. I know, I know. But what else can you expect from someone aspiring to be in the movie business?

The Academy Awards marks the peak of the season, and they are airing this Sunday. The Oscars aren’t important in the sense that we need them for survival, but whether you want to admit it or not, they’re important in our culture; movies are ingrained into the American spirit (obviously not just American, but I’m speaking of America because I live here and because the Oscars are an American tradition), and they’re a big part of our society. Movies are influential and powerful tools, and in my opinion, it’s important that we honor that.

Now obviously I’m not saying I condone every aspect of the movie industry or every feature of every awards show. It does have its fair share of problems- a lot of which are caused by the Academy being heavily influenced/made up by old white males. I don’t like the fashion shows that tear women (but not men!) down for what they decide to wear, which tend to be extremely popular during awards season.  I don’t like the not-so-subtle gender discrimination, seen in George Clooney winning a lifetime achievement award while his wife accomplished more influential and important things than he ever will. Or the racism so evidently displayed by Selma being nominated for best picture, but none of the cast or the director being nominated individually (you can almost hear the chorus of white people crying we aren’t racist! in the background), or how every nominee for best actor/actress/supporting actor/supporting actress is white. We must, however, keep in mind that while the Oscars has its problems, we must try to appreciate it for what it is trying to be: a tribute to the beauty of cinema. However, trying to appreciate it doesn’t mean we must approve of all the Academy’s choices, or excuse their discrimination.

Wow I really didn’t expect this to go the way that it did. Well, anyways, back on track. I haven’t quite seen every Oscar nominated film yet, though I’m hoping to have seen most of them by this weekend. I figured that before I forget, I’d write up a parallel list of whom I think will win, and whom I would pick in each nomination category.

I’ll do it like this: Category ; My Prediction ; My Pick

Best Picture ; Boyhood ; Birdman or Whiplash

Best Actor ; Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything) ; Eddie Redmayne

Best Actress ; Julianne Moore (Still Alice) ; Rosamund Pike (Gone Girl)

Best Director ; Richard Linklater (Boyhood) ; Richard Linklater or Alejandro González Iñárritu (Birdman)

Best Foreign Language Film ; Leviathan ; N/A

Best Original Song ; Glory (Selma) ; Glory

Best Supporting Actor ; J.K. Simmons (Whiplash) ; J.K. Simmons

Best Supporting Actress ; Patricia Arquette (Boyhood) ; Emma Stone (Birdman)

Best Original Screenplay ; Boyhood or Grand Budapest Hotel ; Birdman or Grand Budapest Hotel

Best Original Music Score ; Interstellar ; Interstellar [On a side note, every movie nominated has a beautiful score but I have a special place in my heart for Hans Zimmer]

Best Cinematography ; Birdman or Grand Budapest Hotel ; Birdman

Best Visual Effects ; Interstellar ; Interstellar

Best Writing Adapted Screenplay ; American Sniper ; Whiplash, The Theory of Everything, or Imitation Game

Best Documentary Feature ; N/A ; Citizenfour

Best Film Editing ; Sandra Adair (Boyhood) ; Tom Cross (Whiplash)

Best Costume Design ; Colleen Atwood (Into the Woods) ; Colleen Atwood

I left a couple of them out, either because I haven’t seen any of them or because I really don’t know/care who will win.

Leave a Reply

