Bloodline Review (No Spoilers)

This seems to be an unpopular opinion, so proceed with caution.

Netflix recently released a new series called Bloodline, which tells the story of a family living in the Florida Keys whose dark secrets begin to surface once the eldest child, Danny (Ben Mendelsohn), comes home.  I only got through eight of the thirteen episodes, and that was a struggle.  I keep finding myself wondering why this show has an 8.4 rating on Imdb, because it definitely doesn’t deserve it.

First of all, the way they use foreshadowing is horrible.  They start several of the episodes in a way that’s attempting to be cryptic and mysterious, but fall completely flat every time.  There’s no reason for the bland middle son John, played by Kyle Chandler, to narrate the show, either; he adds nothing to the story except stupid & unnecessary commentary that would be revealed later on anyways.  “We aren’t bad people, but we did a bad thing.” Okay…thanks.

Secondly, there is no protagonist in this show. No one to root for. I think they were aiming for it to be John, but just like every other character on the show, he isn’t likeable.  I think that the show had a very good premise, but it bored the shit out of me while trying to make its point.  Danny is the black sheep of the family. I get it. John is the peacemaker. Cool.  Their family has ~dark secrets~. Yep, you’ve told me that 5,000 times already.  Did I mention Danny is the black sheep? I feel like every single scene between the kids (Chandler, Butz, and Cardellini) involves them reciting the same commentary about Danny over and over and over and over again. It’s unnecessarily repetitive.

The worst of it, and the part that turned me off of this show almost immediately (despite trying to finish it) was the messiness of the timeline. I feel that the editor and director jumbled up the timeline in order to add a bit of depth to a story that had none to begin with, and to make mundane acts seem more interesting than they actually are.

I really can’t talk about this show anymore. The only redeeming quality about it is the very convincing dialogue, and the acting is pretty realistic as well. Otherwise, I don’t see the hype.  The characters are boring, the storyline is boring, and the execution is boring.

Leave a Reply

